Crashplan lost my data!!

Image

I’ve been a Crashplan customer for something like 2 years.  I switched from Mozy after they released a Mac client that didnt work.  As of last week I had over 30gb of data with Crashplan including:-

  • Family Photos (all of them – so precious to me)
  • Financial Accounts for two companies (seriously important)

Note Crashplan is not my only backup solution I keep two Time Machine backups, one at home and one at the office

Last Friday I noticed that Crashplan was starting to re-upload the 30Gb from Scratch? I later noticed they had sent me this email

Hello,
You may have noticed, over the past few days, that your CrashPlan backup has started over.
The backup archive for one of your computers is on a damaged storage volume which is currently unavailable. To continue to provide service while we work to bring the failed system online, we have automatically started you backing up to another volume. There is nothing you need do; we just wanted you to know we are aware of the outage and are working to keep your data safe.
We are very sorry. We will study the cause of the failure and take preventative measures to avoid this happening again.
If you have any questions, or need help with your backup, simply reply to this email and we’ll get right back to you.
Sincerely,
CrashPlan team at Code 42 Software

I was like ‘what?’ so I sent them this email

I went to run a backup just now and it tried to start over? when i looked on my phone none of my files are accessible?

I got this reply

Hi

Thank you for contacting CrashPlan Support!

The backup archive for your computer is on a damaged storage volume which is currently unavailable. To continue to provide service while we work to bring the failed system online, we have automatically started you backing up to another volume. There is nothing you need do; we just wanted you to know we are aware of the outage and are working to keep your data safe.

We are very sorry. We will study the cause of the failure and take preventative measures to avoid this happening again.

If you have any questions, or need help with your backup, simply reply to this email and we’ll get right back to you.

Sincerely,
CrashPlan team at Code 42 Software

At this point I was seriously concerned so I sent them this

Is my data lost? Do I have to re upload 30gb again ? Can you clarify these queries I am really disappointed if it is lost as this defeats the purpose of what I need crashplan for and what I am paying for.

Finally I get this from them (boom!)

Thank you for getting back to us. Unfortunately, the data that was stored in the backup archive on CrashPlan Central was irrecoverable. We have started your backup over again so that your service continues uninterrupted. We have extended your existing subscription an additional three months to help make up for lost time and ensure you can continue using our service without paying out of pocket for the re-upload.

Again, our sincerest apologies over this issue. This is being investigated and we have already taken measures to ensure that this issue does not happen for other CrashPlan Central subscribers. Please let me know if you have any more questions.

Regards,

After some quick googling I found this blog post so obviously this is not an isolated incident.  I see some people commenting that Crashplan like any other backup solution will sometimes fail too.  After getting really mad at them (and cancelling my account) I think they should offer customers a higher priced plan where they keep multiple backups of their data – bottom line is I really dont want to lose my data and want a secure offsite cloud based solution.  For now I will stick to multiple Time Machine Backups and research some other companies for online backup.

I tweeted the CEO – no reply yet.

I see they have all these tweets, one recent one

Quick question, fans: Have any of you lost your wedding photos but CrashPlan was able to help save the day? Tell us your story.

Well no, Crashplan lost my wedding photos, that’s the real story.

About yellowpostitnote

Meh
This entry was posted in Post-Its and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Crashplan lost my data!!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Have you noticed that they haven’t posted anything on the help desk page about this? https://helpdesk.crashplan.com/home

    Also, you’re not the only one, see this tweet from today https://twitter.com/utluna/status/306471978322255872

  2. We’ve been trying to reach you. Your backup archive is not lost. Please check your CrashPlan support ticket.

  3. Mariano Silva says:

    I just discovered today that my account is also showing that “you just have 900k of data backed up” … and i had 80 GB! And also some of my backup destinations ( friend’s computers ) are showing as “Initial Backup not complete” …. I’ll create a case with them and see what they do for me …

  4. Roman says:

    You do realise that when your HDD dies, if you have a single backup that becomes the ONLY source that has your files? Do you really want to ever be in that situation, when a single third party has the only copy of your stuff?

    I wouldn’t trust any single third-party with the only copy of my wedding photos. Not ever. Not anyone.

    P.S. CrashPlan regularly loses small numbers of files from my archive. They deny this in their online resources, but one time I confronted them with actual evidence: a file that wouldn’t restore without an error, and eventually they admitted. Files go corrupt all the time, and they have a process they run once like every few months which verifies that data is still intact on their side. This means that there is a several months long window during which your data could be corrupted and there would be zero indication of it unless you try to restore during that time!

  5. Mariano Silva says:

    Crashplan got back to me within 24 hours and told me to reinstall the application, and that SOLVED the issue. Looks like the crashplan cache file got currupted ( I think it is stored where the %TEMP% environment variable points to, and that is a RAMDisk in my case … )

    Here’s their message:
    —-
    Hi Mariano,

    Thank you for contacting CrashPlan Support.

    It looks like there is a glitch in the CrashPlan cache file. I’d like you to uninstall and reinstall with the latest version on our site. If you follow the Standard Uninstall steps, you shouldn’t need to Adopt your previous backup. Full instructions are here:

    http://support.crashplan.com/doku.php/how_to/reinstall

    Please let me know if you’re still having trouble after the reinstall.

    Thank you,
    ~Aaron

Leave a Reply

